One of *THOSE* Days


I’m making a scarf for a client. And I ran out of yarn halfway through.  I have yarn that is very close in color.

I sent the client an email, showing the scarf, with about an inch done in the second color. She couldn’t see the change.  I sent her two better pics, against a white background, under fluorescent light, giving her three choices:

  1. I continue in the second color, and if the scarf is not good, I will refund her deposit;
  2. She can choose another color for the scarf;
  3. I will refund her deposit and we will call it equal.

So far, she thinks the scarf will be fine in the second color. I have shown five people besides the client either the actual scarf, or two pics of it showing the color change. Out of the five, only one could spot the change (and not the person who saw the actual scarf).

Image

(Can you spot the color change?)

So, I will continue with the scarf, and will send it to her when it’s done.  If she doesn’t like it, I will refund her deposit, and take it back for myself (it does match my coat). At least, I know I handled the problem professionally.

In other news, I have sold a sweater. It’s already boxed to go out in the mail, and I have received payment from the customer. This is exceedingly good news.

After I finish the scarf, I have some other projects to work on:

  1. Fingerless gloves for Judy
  2. Socks for Joanne
  3. Socks for Claudia’s employer
  4. Socks for Claudia
  5. Socks for my accountant
  6. Socks for Stephen Colbert (long story, explained in an earlier post)
  7. Possibly two hats for people in a medievalist group

Then I have some projects of my own to work on:

  1. Finish getting my stash photographed and into my Ravelry database
  2. Sunday Morning Shawl
  3. Temair Throw
  4. Sediment Scraps Blanket (which I may decide to frog)
  5. Great American Afghan

What are your knitting (or yarn-related) projects so far for this year? What progress are you making on them? What projects are you expecting to pop up this year that you haven’t already planned for?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dawn Klein
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 03:47:08

    I honestly can’t see it. Is it a smidgeon brighter? Not quite sure what the difference is. I think you’ve handled it well. You’ll have to see, when the lady gets it herself. What scarf are you making? It almost looks like this one: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/molly-11

    Reply

    • otherdeb
      Feb 14, 2013 @ 04:44:11

      Hi Dawn. The color range is right, but the second skein is a much richer burgundy/brown combo. The pattern is Twist & Lace, by Brenda Patipa. It’s an easy knit, although there is a ton of short-rowing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

