A Treasure from the Past


I believe I have noted before that I learned to knit from my mother.  She learned to knit when she was pregnant with me, from her local knitting store.

I was cleaning out my living room today, with help from my friend J, when I found this:

 

2012-12-18 17.26.35

This is the baby blanket my mother made me.  It dates from 1952.  I have no idea what yarns were used, except that they were wool.  The background is a medium grey, and the kittens are red and white.  The nursery rhyme depicted is the three little kittens who lost their mittens.  I seriously love this blanket.  I’ve had to repair the background a couple of times, and could not exactly match the yarn, but it’s still one of my favorite things in the universe, and a little reminder of the work Mom put in to get ready for my appearance.

Below are closeups of each kitten.

2012-12-18 17.26.54

2012-12-18 17.27.00

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2012-12-18 17.27.00

The best memories are of things that someone loved.  Mom put a lot of love into this blanket, and I’m glad I still have it.  My only sadness is that I don’t have my own little girl to pass it on to, but I’m sure I will find a deserving little girl when the time comes.

Do you have any handmade treasures from your parents?  From other loved ones?  If so, would you be willing to share them (and their stories) with us?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 03:28:48

    I love this!
    Madcricket (ravelry)

    Reply

    • otherdeb
      Dec 23, 2012 @ 04:39:30

      Thank you, Lisa, and nice to meet you! I really treasure the blanket — I have a few other things that Mom made tucked away, and as I find them, I will post them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

