Tuesday’s Child is Full of Grace


I’m not a Tuesday’s child; I’m a Friday’s child (loving and giving), but I feel full of grace today.

Hermione's Everyday Socks by Erica Lueder (Photo

Hermione’s Everyday Socks by Erica Lueder
(Photo © 2012 Deborah J. Wunder)

Several Good Things have happened over the last week.  I got some work done on a pair of Hermione’s Everyday Socks (by Erica Lueder) for a friend (I just started the heel flap).

I have also gotten inquiries about doing a medievalish sweater for someone, in specific colors.  If any of you are good at pricing handknits, I would appreciate you contacting me, so I can figure out a price to quote the fellow.  I am told that I can charge fairly for this client, because he is in favor of supporting small craftspeople.  If you can assist me in pricing such a garment, please leave word in the comments where I can contact you!

The same gent also wants a close knit hat done in the same color scheme.  I’m pretty sure I can do that, given that I can do fair isle knitting.  Mind, he did not specify a design, just the colors (green, black, red, white), but I have an idea or two for a design I think he would like.  I figure to charge about $30 for the hat, because it’s a bit more complex than I would otherwise do.  If any of folks who are good at pricing want to guide me here, though, it would be appreciated.  Oh, and I would be charging separately for the cost of the yarn for these projects.

And I have had a request that I cannot reveal details about just yet, but it would be a Very Good Thing if all the details can be worked out.

So, that’s my knitting news for the day.  The Sunday Morning Shawlette is on hold for the moment, so I can get these socks done.

See everyone next week, and I hope you get all your holiday knitting, crocheting, or whatever craft is yours done in plenty of time for the actual holidays!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mindy Klasky
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 14:02:00

    $30 for the hat seems like you’re underselling yourself – I’d readily pay $30 in a store for a hat that was not custom-made.

    Is there a yarn store near you that you could visit and talk to the owners about pricing? I suspect that they’re called on to finish customers’ projects on a regular basis, and they know some pricing formulas — or they can refer you to other knitters for hire.

    (One of the major messages that I send out to writers and editors is that we can’t short ourselves on our own work — even if we love what we do, we won’t be able to do it if we can’t put food on our tables!)

    Reply

    • otherdeb
      Dec 12, 2012 @ 18:30:37

      Hi Mindy! Welcome to my little corner of the blogworld!

      While there are a few good yarn stores in Manhattan, I have not found them to be helpful about this kind of thing, since they really don’t want competition. On the other hand, I should also check on Ravelry. I bet there is at least one group there who would be good at helping me price things. Thanks for triggering the thought!

      And you are absolutely right about not undervaluing ourselves and our work!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

