RAP Day


“I’ve declared that Tuesdays are for Random Acts of Patterns (or RAP). It’s the fibery equivalent to Random Acts of Kindness! Most of us have either randomly given or received patterns, so this is not my invention. However, I’d like to make it a movement and get more people involved! So on any random Tuesday that you feel inclined to and/or can afford to, consider randomly selecting a fellow Raveler and gifting him/her a pattern off of his/her queue. 🙂 THEN – Come back here and tell us! I get so inspired by people who participate in RAK, or in this case, RAP, that I’d love to hear all about your generosity in this fab community! 🙂 Of course, you don’t have to wait for a Tuesday. You can participate in a RAP at any time, but I thought Tuesdays could use a little jazzing up!

ALSO – if you’ve been the recipient of a RAP, please share too! We all need a little sunshine in our day!

I sent out a RAP today and put in the message: You’re a recipient of a Random Act of Pattern. Happy Tuesday!

Spread the love! :)”

With this message on Ravelry (posted on 9 Oct, 2012), Karrie (aka KnitPurlGurl) started a tradition that I just found out about today.

I was checking my email and found that I had been gifted with a pattern from one of my favorite designers by the lovely Ethereal Fibers.   I emailed back thanking her, and asking what the “RAP Day” she referred to in her email was.

She explained to me that a knitter named KnitPurlGurl had started this about two months before he passed away, and that a number of knitters were keeping the idea going by gifting others with a pattern on Tuesdays.

Given my circumstances, I can’t do this every week, but I think it’s a wonderful idea, and I intend to participate whenever I can!

In other knitting news, I continue to work on my second Sunday Morning shawl, and to dither about whether or not to turn it into an afghan.  I will also be measuring a friend’s feet tomorrow, and helping her choose a pattern for a pair of socks, the money from which will be put towards the root canal/post/crown I need that my insurance won’t cover.

So, that’s about it for the moment.  If you can, and are so inclined, I hope you choose to take part in RAP Day!

Leave a Reply

