My Knitting Mojo Still Seems to be Out of Town, Dammit!


I’ve gotten another couple of inches done on my Sediment Scraps Blanket, and found some more yarn that will fit with the color scheme already in progress, but — other than that — my knitting mojo still seems to be on vacation.

Meanwhile, I have been trying to get caught up on all the little things that one lets go of when the knitting mojo is running strong.  I’ve been entering data on my calendar that needs to be there, throwing out tons of accumulated papers and other dreck, reading (although my reading mojo also seems spotty these days), and writing.

I want to be knitting.  It feels odd not to have projects tucked into all my bags.  It feels odd to ride an express bus and watch the scenery, rather than my hands moving.   Still, if there is one thing I have learned over the 55 years (as of tomorrow) that I have been knitting, it’s that I cannot force it.  So, I am patiently waiting for it to return, perusing Ravelry patterns hoping to raise it from the dormant, and fondling my stash hoping to find a yarn that excites me enough to cast on with it.

I think that I probably need to get out o the house a bit, and find things that excite my sense of art/craft.

What things trigger your desire to knit/create something?  What activities inspire you to pick up your needles/hook/brush, etc?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silver account
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 02:20:25

    I tend to think when people talk of losing their knitting mojo, that they’ve lost their enthusiasm or interest for the craft. Usually this seems to be a temporary state and one that can be easily reversed.

    Reply

    • otherdeb
      Oct 13, 2012 @ 14:44:49

      Hi, Silver account. Welcome to my little world.

      I have to respectfully disagree with you here. I’ve been k knitting for 55 years, and I’ve seen this cycle before. I still love the craft and can’t wait to find a project that sparks my mojo again. It’s just that after knitting for over two years, pretty much non-stop, and turning out 1-4 pairs of socks a month, plus other projects, my brain and hands seem to need a break, which is why I said my knitting mojo seemed to be on vacation, rather than saying it seems to be gone for good.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

