Some Days the Knitting Just Doesn’t Go as You Planned


I’ve been trying to design a new sock.

The plan was to knit the sock quickly, make sure the pattern was written correctly, get it to a beta knitter, and get it up on Ravelry. It would mean that this month I have completed four pairs of socks.

I started it as a toe-up. Had to rip back the foot a couple of times until I found a stitch pattern I liked with the yarn I wanted to use.

Then, I got the foot and the heel flap done and started to pick up for a gusset and realized that I had omitted the heel turn. Ripped back to where that should start. Realized I hadn’t documented what I did for the change from the foot to the heel flap, so I ripped back to that. Screwed up reknitting the heel flap three or four times. Got the heel flap knit, and the heel turned, then realized I had put them in backwards (the heel flap was on the sole of the sock). At that point, I ripped out the entire sock and went to bed.

This morning, I started the sock again, this time, as a cuff-down sock. It’s going smoothly so far, and I am taking it slowly. I have the leg and heel planned out, with preliminary notes in a text document.

I’m still hoping to have the pair done by the end of the month, and to find another beta knitter, but we’ll see what happens.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RobinH
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 11:24:27

    Been there. Ripped that. Sends sympathy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

