Call for assistance


{EAV_BLOG_VER:8da20fc7c32323c7}

As some of you may know, back in 1999 I posted one of the first patterns for toe-up socks on the web (at socknitters.com). I had the intention of learning more, and becoming a designer.

Life got in the way, as it tends to do, and that goal got put on the back bench for a while.

I am now in the process of designing my second sock pattern. The way I work is to write out the pattern while making the first sock, knit the second from the written directions, then ask someone to test knit a pair. In return, they get a great pair of socks (I cannot pay for the knitting yet, but I will cover cost of yarn used), and a free pattern.

This pair will be fairly easy — Cuff down, hardest stitch in the pattern is slip stitch, short row heel with flap, symmetrically decreased toe, and kitchener stitch closing.

I should have the knitting for this pattern done by the 30th, so if anyone is interested in test knitting a pair of socks during the first week or two of October, please leave a comment, with a photo of some socks you have made before, below!

Thanks for your help (in advance), and thanks for supporting me in achieving a long-held goal.

Update: I have one test knitter, and could still use one more. I have also finished the first sock, and am about to try to knit the second from my written instructions.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. starriknytes
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 05:50:03

    What a wonderful idea!! Good luck! I’m sure you’ll find plenty of knitters who will be excited about helping. Awesome post. ❤

    Reply

  2. otherdeb
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 06:26:38

    Thanks, starri! I have been dreaming of doing this for almost as long as I’ve been knitting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

