Spring Forward Socks 1


As part of my participation in the Year of Stash Socks 2011 Challenge, I am making a pair of Spring Forward Socks, but I have modified them slightly.

The modification I did was to try Cat Bordhi’s Sweet Tomato Heel, which is a short row heel without wraps.

It’s an interesting heel — made in three segments, with two full rounds between each segment.  I’m not sure I like the look of it yet, but that may just be that I prefer things I already know to new ones.  It seems to fit nicely, but I won’t have certainty on that until the sock is finished.

I do love the undulating lace on this pattern, though!

The yarn is by an independent dyer, Keegan Lane Yarns.  The yarn is Toasty Sock BIG FOOTIES (75% wool, 25% nylon), and the colorway is “The Heat of the Day.”  And the lighting in my room does not do this justice at all.  It’s a beautiful sunny yellow/orange/roes/coral, and shows off the pattern fabulously.

I’m looking forward to getting this sock done tonight, and starting the second one either late tonight or early tomorrow.

I have been making an effort to turn out two projects (at least) each month for this challenge (a personal challenge to myself).  I have decided that I will try to come up with a sock on my own for my second project,  We’ll see if it happens.

Leave a Reply

