March, so far…


It’s been a reasonable month, knitting-wise.

I got my YOSS project done and posted before the first half of the month was done. The pattern I used was Honey Badger, and the yarn was Madeline Tosh Sock Yarn.

I’ve become kind of addicted to yarn by a few independent dyers: Ethereal Fibers, MIB Yarns, and Keegan Lane Yarns. And Ethereal Fibers has one color, Poison Apple, that practically glows in the right light. I chose to use it for a second Belgian Waffles, since I loved the way the first one looks, but my main coat is burgundy. It came out even better than I had hoped.

I’m currently using her laceweight in “Saphira” to make the Madeira Mantilla, but I don’t have any pictures yet.

One thing I have found consistent among the independent dyers I’ve been using is the quality of their yarns. So often, the commercial yarns are full of breaks, or small knots, and it makes those yarns annoying to work with. I don’t know if it’s because the indie dyers spend a bit more for their base yarns, or what, but I have never had a problem like that with an indie dyer.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 14:41:25

    Your sock is so pretty! You are right – I have had far fewer problems with indie dyer yarns than commercial.

    Reply

    • otherdeb
      Mar 26, 2012 @ 17:27:56

      Thank you. And, yeah, I’m not sure what it is about their yarns, but I have had the most gorgeous yarns, both colorwise and qualitywise, from the indie dyers I use.

      Reply

  2. kellee
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 18:59:55

    that is so absolutely sweet of you. Thank you so much, love. I so appreciate having such a lovely customer. xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers

